A Gingerbread House for Spring!

Standard
A Gingerbread House for Spring!

Gingerbread in Spring?  Does that sound strange to you?  Oh, wait, it’s not even Spring yet.  For sure not around here, we are officially still in winter for awhile yet.  But it seems like February is when I usually do end up making gingerbread houses, for one reason or another.  This year I didn’t make one at Christmas time (happens more often than not).  So sometimes I think I need one for my birthday.  (oops, I just realized we’re in March, duh!!!)  This year I made and ate some Spring-like gingerbread in honor of my sister and nieces’ birthdays!!!  (and had a lot of fun doing it!)  But this house really looks like it would be cute for Easter (so that’s what I wrote the on the picture!)  Here’s what I did:

Made gingerbread dough.  Rolled out and cut out pattern.  For this house I quickly printed off a great free pattern to use by Tikkido.  Great for those times you don’t feel like coming up with a gingerbread house pattern of your own.  And it turns out really cute!Spring Gingerbread House by dennasideas.com - Page 004The kids did some gingerbread cutting and building of their own…Spring Gingerbread House by dennasideas.com - Page 003For a tiled roof, I pressed a pattern into the roof pieces before baking, and used a clean drinking straw to poke some holes in the roof.Spring Gingerbread House by dennasideas.com - Page 002Two color Royal icing decorating before assembling….Spring Gingerbread House by dennasideas.com - Page 001Assembled and then added fondant flowers, leaves and strawberries and a little girl out front in her garden.Spring Gingerbread House by dennasideas.com - Page 005The roof idea was something new I saw on Pinterest, so my little house was inspired in part by the beautiful house I saw here.Spring Gingerbread House by dennasideas.com - Page 006Just a tiny bit trickier than a regular roof, but I love how it turned out!Spring Gingerbread House by dennasideas.com - Page 009Spring Gingerbread House by dennasideas.com - Page 008And now this little house is gone!  Tasted just as yummy as it looked!!  Maybe I should make another one for Easter….Easter Gingerbread House by dennasideas.comEaster Gingerbread House by dennasideas.comEaster is a great time for gingerbread!!!  (I think that could be a European thing?! anyone??)

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: A Spring Birdhouse out of gingerbread! | denna's ideas

What do you think? Que piensas?

