How to make a Classic dessert: Pineapple Upside-down Cake!

Standard
How to make a Classic dessert: Pineapple Upside-down Cake!

Now here’s a beautifully wonderful classic dessert that I haven’t tried for ages!!  Honestly, I don’t think I’ve ever even tried making it before, but the last time I tried tasting it was ages ago for sure!  I saw a delicious photo of this cake made by Averie Sunshine over at Averie Cooks and I couldn’t stop staring at the photos, with mouth watering.  After that, I was just waiting for a special occasion…..

A very special occasion soon came to pass, the double birthday of my dear Father- and Sister-in-law!  So I tried out the cake…and well….it was…….everything I had hoped.

The recipe from Averie Cooks is super!  And quite easy.  Brown sugar and butter glaze, with sliced pineapple and maraschino cherries, covered in sour cream batter.  Bake, rest, flip, photograph, eat!  Here are a few how-to-assemble-the-cake photos that I took as I whipped together this baby:how to make pineapple upside-down cake by dennasideas.com - Page 012 how to make pineapple upside-down cake by dennasideas.com - Page 011 how to make pineapple upside-down cake by dennasideas.com - Page 010 how to make pineapple upside-down cake by dennasideas.com You can find the recipe here on Averie Cooks.  I added my photos so you can see how I layered the pineapple and cherries.  The only thing that I did differently from her recipe was to use a 10 inch round pan instead of a 9 inch one and to accidentally put the side pineapple pieces upside-down!  oh, and a few extra cherries!  It was so easy to flip it out of the pan after it had baked and rested awhile…123 flip!  I had to take a whole bunch of photos of the luscious beauty….classic pineapple upside-down cake by dennasideas.com

See the yummy sweet juiciness? classic pineapple upside-down cake how to by denna's ideas

Since I used a slightly larger pan, the batter wasn’t very deep, but that was fine.  The taste was……….so…………wonderful!!classic pineapple upside-down cake how to by denna's ideas

Here’s my little glass hen, coming to check it out…classic pineapple upside-down cake how to by denna's ideas

For some reason the flavor of this cake transported me to my childhood….(though my Mom says she didn’t make it very often)

classic pineapple upside-down cake how to by denna's ideas

The lovely cake was devoured quite quickly, though it was very very sweet.  Needs a cold glass of milk!  Even with all my photos of the cake, the ones on the blog with the recipe are even more amazing!🙂classic pineapple upside-down cake how to by denna's ideashow to make pineapple upside-down cake by dennasideas.com Ahem, if you know me, you know that my in-laws live very far away….so they didn’t actually get to taste the cake….um, we gobbled it down while we thought of them.  It’s our way of celebrating…..😉

 

2 responses »

What do you think? Que piensas?

