How to make an easy Lalaloopsy Cake or Sewing Party Cake with Sprinkles

Standard
How to make an easy Lalaloopsy Cake or Sewing Party Cake with Sprinkles

Sprinkles make for fast and fun cake decorating.  I personally don’t like to crunch on them, but most kids don’t seem to mind.  And did I mention that they make cake decorating fast and easy?  There are so many colors to choose from!!  For this easy little cake, I used mostly pink sprinkles with a few orange and yellow ones mixed in.  It matched the colors of the Lalaloopsy theme  we were working on.

To make this really easy on myself, I used a cherry flavored cake mix to make a two layer 6 inch round cake.  That was very silly.  I wasn’t pleased with it AT ALL.  Homemade cakes are just as fast and easy to make, and they hold their shape better, and seem to crumb less.  I was pretty ticked off working with that spongy pink cake!!  :(

The icing was homemade, nice and thick so it covered the weird cake fairly well, though there were a lot of crumbs…..  After the cake was iced, I used some strips of paper towel to wrap around the outside (gently pressing down to flatten out any lumps of icing) of the cake, and tied with a ribbon, just to hold it.denna's ideas: how to make a Lalaloopsy Sewing party cake with sprinkles

denna's ideas: how to make a Lalaloopsy Sewing party cake with sprinklesSprinkle on the sprinkles!!  I had to gently tap them down, since the icing was so thick and not at all gooey.denna's ideas: how to make a Lalaloopsy Sewing party cake with sprinkles denna's ideas: how to make a Lalaloopsy Sewing party cake with sprinkles

Carefully unwrap:denna's ideas: how to make a Lalaloopsy Sewing party cake with sprinkles

The extra sprinkles that had worked their way down the sides were kind of cute, so I just left them, and the ones that sprinkled themselves around the bottom of the cake.  I even added a few more.

I wanted to add a pink sewing measuring tape that I had found.  I didn’t want the vinyl (ok, fiber glass, since you’ll see it in the photo!) tape to touch the cake, so found some wired ribbon to tie around the cake first.

Hmmmm, how to attatch the vinyl measuring tape?

Buttons on toothpicks!!  I was surrounded by button crafting things anyways….lets add more buttons to everything, even the cake!  I measured where I wanted the tape to fold around the cake, with the birthday girl’s age at the front of the cake.  Then I cut the tape and used my handy dandy Crop-A-Dile II hole puncher to make a hole in each end of the tape.denna's ideas: how to make a Lalaloopsy Sewing party cake with sprinklesThen cut a toothpick in half and hot glued a button to each cut end.  Rather deadly looking!denna's ideas: how to make a Lalaloopsy Sewing party cake with sprinkles Hold the tape measure up to where the ends will be and …..oops, forgot to mention, I had to cut slits into the yellow ribbon first of all, because it didn’t look like the toothpicks were going to jab through without making a mess of the ribbon.  Then pin the toothpicks in to hold up the measuring tape.  It worked well once I had everything figured out….denna's ideas: how to make a Lalaloopsy Sewing party cake with sprinkles denna's ideas: how to make a Lalaloopsy Sewing party cake with sprinklesNot much of a yellow bow, I know, but it was the back of the cake!!denna's ideas: how to make a Lalaloopsy Sewing party cake with sprinklesThe front of the cake looked really sweet!!  I had made some fondant buttons the same way I made the button cookies, the day before so that they were fairly hard and ready to be plunked onto the cake.  Hmmmm, something else, something else….what could we put on top?  I had wanted to do a number candle, covered in buttons and rhinestones, but had forgotten to buy one.  How about a super cute lace doily bunting?  I love putting little buntings on cakes and they look so sweet and festive!!  Done in 7 minutes.  See the how-to here.denna's ideas: easy DIY papel picado cake buntingdenna's ideas: how to make a Lalaloopsy Sewing party cake with sprinklesOne Lalaloopsy sew sweet, cute-as-a-button Sewing cake ready in almost no time at all!!!  To make it really Lalaloopyish, it would have been cute to add a few of the mini Lalaloopsy doll figurines….didn’t even think of that until this very moment….denna's ideas: how to make a Lalaloopsy Sewing party cake with sprinklesI added the cake to our little dessert buffet which was set up on my vintage sewing machine.  (Ever since my husband gave it to me, I’ve been longing to use it as a dessert table!!! heh heh!!!)denna's ideas: how to make a Lalaloopsy Sewing party cake with sprinklesdenna's ideas: how to make a Lalaloopsy Sewing party cake with sprinklesMy own little Laloopsy doll was pretty pleased with her pink cake!
denna's ideas: how to make a Lalaloopsy Sewing party cake with sprinkles denna's ideas.com :cute as a button cake

One response »

  1. Pingback: Lalaloopsy Party for a sweet little girl | denna's ideas

What do you think? Que piensas?

