Home is the sailor….

Standard
Home is the sailor….

Home is the sailor, home from the sea, and the hunter home from the hill….a quote that I have always enjoyed “quoting” not knowing exactly where it came from.  In my youth we watched “Wodehouse Playhouse” a series of dramatizations made from 1974 to 78 of some of P.G. Wodehouse’s comic short stories. ( He was the creator of “Jeeves”)  In one scene set in the USA in the 1920’s during Prohibition, the lady of the house quotes it on seeing her husband enter the house.  (the episode is called The Rise and Fall of Minna Nordstrom.  I only mention this in case you were ever a fan of Wodehouse Playhouse and were wondering what episode I got it from!)  We grew up loving that dry British humor and watching our small collection of Wodehouse videos over and over…I’m sure that I can quote them all word for word.  Ahhh, good memories!

Anyways, back to the quote.  I decided to actually look it up, to see who originally said it.  Do you know?  It was Robert Louis Stevenson.

This is his epitaph on his grave:

Under the wide and starry sky,
Dig the grave and let me lie.
Glad did I live and gladly die,
And I laid me down with a will. 

This be the verse you grave for me:
Here he lies where he long’d to be; 
Home is the sailor, home from sea, 
And the hunter home from the hill.

I didn’t realize that it was an epitaph, heh heh!! ( But still plan on quoting it!)  I also found that another poem was written about it later when A.E. Housman wrote this poem entitled RLS:

Home is the sailor, home from sea:
Her far-borne canvas furled
The ship pours shining on the quay
The plunder of the world.

Home is the hunter from the hill:
Fast in the boundless snare
All flesh lies taken at his will
And every fowl of air.

‘Tis evening on the moorland free,
The starlit wave is still:
Home is the sailor from the sea,
The hunter from the hill.

Funny that my post which was just to let you know that I am back home…turned into research into writers and poets and poetry and even a watching of some much-loved 70’s British comedy (which I am listening to on youtube while I type this, the episode being  “A Voice from the Past” where I get another favorite though less classic quote= “You Will Eat your Nice Spinach!”  It never fails to make me laugh out loud!)

What do you think? Que piensas?

