Need a Rainbow?

Standard

It has been one of those weeks….one of those months…..a long winter month.  After living in Canada for quite a few years now, I guess I have to admit that the long winters we have (at least where we live) do really take their toll on you.  (It’s not just in your imagination).  January and February can be kind of hard.  We do see the sun sometimes, even in winter, but the days are so short.  Lately we’ve been remarking in the mornings “wow, look, there’s light!!”  So that the kids aren’t getting on the school bus in the dark…..and getting off the school bus in the dark…..now there’s finally some light!!  (Until we hit Daylight Savings Time, now we’re back to darkness in the morning, but I know that it’s only for a short while).  And the dark winter months seem like a great time to get a cold, or the flu.  Some sort of bug just hit us and Henry and I are still recovering.  I said that I can’t remember when we’ve both gotten sick at the exact same time with the exact same thing….usually one of us is ok, while the other deals with the sickness, but this time we suffered together!!  (It was kind of sweet, in a weird sort of way.  We both had to be kind and give sympathy, because our symptoms were the same….)

What with the winter, the darkness, the dreariness, the sickness…..I’ve been thinking that I need a rainbow.  Lots of rainbows!  There is just something in me that is craving rainbows.  I need to see those bright colors.  Mostly, I need the promise. The  Rainbow symbolizes a Promise.  And not just any promise, from any old person.  The Rainbow appeared to symbolize a promise that God made to us.  Which is really the best kind of promise that there can be.  I need God’s promises, those are the ones you can count on.  I’m looking for His promises to get me through the dark days.

There are the “natural” promises:  in the middle of winter, there is the promise of spring, it’s coming, just hold on.  Summer will be here sometime this year.  The sun will shine, the snow will melt.  But I need even deeper ones.  Promises of a hope and a future.

This longing for rainbows could partially explain why, in the last few years, I’ve started celebrating St. Patrick’s Day.  It’s a rainbow sort of day, pots of shiny gold at the end of shimmery rainbows!  Coming at the end of a long winter.  And, boy, do I need those rainbows!  I’ve started planning a few little rainbow things….and eats.  The other day we made a rainbow dessert….I took photos, but…

Did I mention that my faithful old computer died?  Right on my birthday.  I haven’t transferred over my programs, so I haven’t been doing anything with my photos, and so haven’t been blogging.  That doesn’t help dispel the last of the winter’s gloom!  So today I grabbed a few photos of rainbows from days gone by…funny how they are all edible rainbows!
denna's ideas-cupcake gallery - Page 007I need to see those bright colors!  Even on a cupcake paper!  Eating a rainbow is even better than staring at one!  There is a “rainbow” movie that I really like.  It’s for kids, of course!  I made spaghetti and meatballs for supper a few nights ago, and just had to watch Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs!  There are a lot of satisfying rainbows in that animated movie, from the title to the end credits!  I also really like the story.  And how everything starts out so grey and sardine-y in the town.  Then comes the food and rainbows!!  Oh, and there are so many other things, too, deep stuff, like fathers and sons, being yourself, friendship and understanding, and then throw in some fun songs and a Guatemalan and a monkey, and it = one of my favorite movies ever!  (I was trying to add a few photos from the movie here, but couldn’t get it to work! And while I was looking for pictures, I just found out that a sequel is coming out in the fall!  Of course I had to watch the trailer…..might not be as awesome as the first movie, but still looks fun and foodie!!! Ahh, gives me something else to look forward to!)

Denna's Ideas- cupcake gallery - rainbowAbout rainbows…..what do you think?  I think I’m going to go hang up a rainbow in my kitchen today!

A rainbow a day keeps the blues away!

A rainbow a day keeps the blues away!

St. Patrick's Day Green Rainbow Cake

St. Patrick’s Day Green Rainbow Cake

What do you think? Que piensas?

