Gluten Free Chocolate Brownies–with a Secret Ingredient!!

Standard
Gluten Free Chocolate Brownies–with a Secret Ingredient!!

The ingredient will soon be secret no longer…I am about to tell you what it is, but first must say that I baked a pan of brownies last night, to test out this interesting recipe.  It looked great when baking…such a smooth top, no crowning.  It smelled great while baking, nice and chocolatey.  It cut up nicely into squares (when almost cooled) dense and kinda fudgy.

My idea was to just cut the edges off and serve that right away, then save the rest for the next day (to photograph in natural light).  But my family liked it so much, they wouldn’t stop bugging me for more ’till the whole cake was gone!!  (8×8 cake thank goodness)  It was an experiment to see if anyone commented on a weird taste or texture….but they loved it!!  I must admit that I rarely make brownies.  I have never found a recipe that I’ve really liked.  I think this recipe is a keeper for sure!  It was fairly quick to make (though needed more clean-up than usual).  It is a fairly “healthy” cake, as cakes go.  And it will be great to have another gluten-free recipe in my recipe box!gluten free chocolate brownies with black beans tested by denna's ideas

Following is the recipe I found on the blog Healthy Foodie Travels with a guest post by Claire from The Realistic Nutritionist (click to find another similar recipe).

Chocolate Brownies

Yields about 12 brownies
Prep time: >10  minutes
Cook time: 28 minutes
Ingredients:
  • 3 brown eggs
  • 3 tablespoons canola oil (can also use vegetable)
  • 15 ounces of black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • Dash of salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1/3 cup gluten-free semisweet chocolate chips
Directions:
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease an 8 x 8 baking dish with nonstick cooking spray.
  2. In a large blender, add black beans, eggs and canola oil. Blend on high until mixture is smooth. Pour mixture out of the blender and into a large mixing bowl. Add cocoa powder, sugars, vanilla, salt, walnuts and chocolate chips. Stir well. Pour mixture into the prepared baking dish.
  3. Bake for 22 – 28 minutes, or until the edges start to come in and top is a little dry.  (I baked for 28 minutes, and it seemed just right).
Nutritional information per brownie:
Calories: 116
Fat: 5.4 grams
Carbohydrates: 17.3 grams
Fiber: 2 grams
Protein: 2.75 grams
Weight Watchers Points Plus Points: 3gluten free chocolate brownies with black beans tested by denna's ideasgluten free chocolate brownies with black beans tested by denna's ideas
gluten free chocolate brownies with black beans tested by denna's ideas
Did you see it??  Did you find the secret ingredient??  Heh heh, unbelievable right??  You would never guess it. And if you didn’t catch it, I’ll tell you, the secret ingredient is–black beans!!!!  About a can of black beans!!
 I don’t even have a blender, so I just blended the beans in my food processor, so there were tiny bits of the black bean skins in it, but they weren’t very noticeable at all.  Oh, and I used pecans instead of walnuts. No one noticed and they licked the platter clean!!
When I did finally tell them the secret ingredient, they didn’t believe me. 🙂
Amazingly good, that’s all I can say!
We’ll have to see how things go, and whether we will need to change the name of the brownies to “tooty-frutti” brownies!! 🙂

4 responses »

    • I’ve made them again since, and have found that they are best eaten soon after baking. They also were nice after having been in the fridge for awhile and /or with some frosting! I like the way they bake up so nice and even and are easy to cut into little cubes.

  1. I tried these and they were awesome. My gluten-free friend was super impressed.🙂 And I was lazy when I made them: I just blended in the flour and cocoa etc., I didn’t bother mixing it by hand and they still turned out yummy. Thanks for the recipe Denna🙂

What do you think? Que piensas?

