“Sunshine, lollipops and rainbows” cake

Standard
“Sunshine, lollipops and rainbows” cake

“everything that’s wonderful is how I feel when we’re together…”  it’s about spending time together.  And in this case it happens that the kids and I were spending time making a cake together.  Some little person figured that we should “play home-school” on Saturday and had mapped out the whole day including gym, matematica, recess and craft class.  Why does it feel so ironic that this same little person complains every morning about having to go to school all day?

We did play school (though I explain every time that Home-schooling is really a very different thing, and that playing school one Saturday is not at all the same thing as home-schooling).  It was real old-fashioned one-room school where each child had their own “slate” to write on: what a novel idea!  Some matematica was involved (I write it that way because that’s how the little person says it) and some figuring and whatnot, but best of all was the “baking/craft” class!  I decided I’d let them play with some fondant and we could put together and decorate a cake (and then eat it up for snack time of course!).

I cut the layers for the cake, then the younger kids helped me fill it.  We were experimenting, so one side of the cake was filled with jam and the other side was filled with buttercream icing.  This said to explain the fondant squiggles on the edges of the cake plate….I wanted to know which side was filled with what when it came time to cut the cake…

First a short demonstration of how to roll the fondant out and cover the iced cake in a smooth-ish layer of fondant, then everyone set about coloring their fondant and making flowers and snails and leaves and braids.  Being the perfectionista type, of course I decided that I would be the one to put the flowers on the cake (and tweak a bit here and there)….what can I say, I can’t help myself.  So we worked together to create this colorful masterpiece….denna's ideas- sunshine lollipops and rainbow cakeColorful is definitely the right adjective!  The colors all turned out quite bright, not quite that pastel look I had in mind, but I’m fine with bright colors….and they tasted just as good to the kids!denna's ideas- sunshine lollipops and rainbow cake(I took some of the swirly “braids” and rolled them into usable flowers.)  This is actually marshmallow fondant, not the traditional almond kind and it’s for sure not playdough (no matter how much it resembles that stinky stuff!!)denna's ideas- sunshine lollipops and rainbow cakeWe had a few tools to play with.  Each of the kids worked for awhile on flowers while I was busy making stems and leaves….denna's ideas-sunshine lollipops and rainbow cakeAnd then (almost as soon as we were done decorating) time to cut and eat the cake!!denna's ideas-sunshine lollipops and rainbow cakeThe iced layers looked the best, but the jam-filled side tasted the best!!denna's ideas:sunshine lollipops and rainbow cakeI just need to work a bit on the jam filling technique….but this colorful cake sure tasted great!!!denna's ideas- sunshine lollipops and rainbow cakeA little birdie friend even flew down for a peek at the cake…denna's ideas-sunshine lollipops and rainbow cakeHmm, gotta go now, after looking at these photos that last piece of cake is definitely calling my name!

2 responses »

  1. Will you give out the recipe for your Sunshine, lollipop and Rainbow cake? Would love to make it for my moms 80th birthday
    Thank you!.

    • Yes! I just made a heading called Recipes on my blog, and posted the cake recipe there for you, with links to the fondant and icing recipes that I use. Let me know if you have any more questions! Have a happy cake baking day!

What do you think? Que piensas?

