Baby Boy Birthday Card

Standard

Did you know that it’s World Cardmaking Day today?  Here’s the (only) card that I made today.  It’s for a little boy who is turning ONE this weekend!  I decided to use these cute jungle animal printables for the card, since I’m using them for a cake-topper, too.

I used 2 kits, the Color-Me version, and the version that’s already colored.  You can find the jungle animal kits here at Paperglitter.

Using kraft paper, and 2 shades of teal/green and white cardstock, I did some printing.   I printed out the colored page of the jungle animals at 45%, not at the 100% size shown. 

 When I printed out the color-me little cart, I printed it at 60%, just to make it a little bigger to fit on the front of my 5 in.x4in. card.  The jungle leaves from the color-me verision were printed at 45% on light green cardstock.  When you open the cart page in Adobe Reader on your computer, you can customize the text, so I typed in Happy Birthday (and the name of the b-day boy).

Cut out everything!  I liked the dotted lines around the animals, so I left them showing!  I wanted the cart to be a little pocket to hold the jungle animals.  Cut out one side of the cart, leaving flaps of either side to glue down and make a pocket.  Score on the lines so they are easier to fold, then fold them over.  I also made a pocket of the lion side of the cart, to put inside the card.

Using double sided tape or a tape runner, adhere the flaps of the pocket to the card.  (I made a mat of kraft paper for the front of the teal card).  The animals slip right into the pocket!

Instead of using the wheels that came with the kit, I used my new (and first Martha Stewart) paper punch.  It punches out and embosses a cute little button! (the punches are on sale at Michaels right now).

Add a cut-out leaf or two, and some confetti!

This card came together quickly using the little jungle animals designs!  Are you a card maker?  What did you make today?  (I squeezed this card in instead of doing 2 other things I had been planning to do…but after all, world card making day only comes once a year! now I must run!)

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Baby Boy Birthday Cake Topper « denna's ideas

What do you think? Que piensas?

