Customize your Cake= Party Favor Boxes

Standard
Customize your Cake= Party Favor Boxes

I have had so much fun with these little “paper cake slices”!  They are such a cute paper craft idea.  Since we were having a mermaid party for my daughter, I wanted to make them look like mermaidy cake!  I saw these printable cake favor boxes a long time ago and just drooled over them!  There are so many cute styles, most of them are already colored, but these ones have just the outlines so they can be colored in by you or your children.  There is also a spot for customizable text, so the birthday child’s name and age or something like that can be printed on the cake.

First of all, you can buy and get the download for the file for the paper cake favor boxes here from Paperglitter. I did that already, because I made a piece of cake for Guatemala’s birthday!!

Ending up with lots of mermaidy-colored cardstock from my other decorations, it was an easy choice to print out the cake boxes on shades of purple and green…I wasn’t worried about the paper being too dark to color in, because I have my new Prismacolor colored pencils! yay!  I printed out the boxes and candles…lots of them, because we ended up using them as a party craft and I also made favor boxes.  I pulled out my party craft tub where I had all the junk  stuff I used to decorate for the party, so there were ribbons, ric rac, glitter glue, all sorts of things!

At the party, the little girls went to town with markers and glitter glue on their cake box printout!  Some of them started the cutting-out (I think) but that job went faster with an adult doing it!  Here’s my daughter’s decorating job:It seemed like the best idea was to decorate the boxes before they were cut out and while they were still flat.Sparkle holograph wrapping paper was easy to punch out and paste on.  But then I was the one going to town with ric rac, rhinestones and my shell stamp and silver embossing powder…I like details!!! And when I get on a roll, there’s no stopping me!Oh! and seashells, for mermaids of course, glued on with some glitter glue.Use a circle punch for mermaid scales:(in case you are wondering, I glued the ric rac over the text that says “Tasya’s Mermaid Party” on this box).  After all the decorating is done and the glitter glue is dried, then cut the box out.I just used the tip of the scissors to score over the dotted lines, but you can also use a fancy scoring tool😉This will make it very easy to fold up the box:There are only 2 spots that need some double-sided tape to keep them closed:I used my double-sided scrapbook tape,The end of the box stays open so you can fill it with treats. 

Something that works well is to buy velco fasteners, the round ones, from the dollar store, then cut the circles in half and use them to keep the box lid fastened but still openable! (do I make sense?)  And don’t forget to color or decorate the candles!!  It’s 2 to a cake, then they are folded and glued so that they are double sided, and they just fit snuggly into the slit on the top of the cake!  Love those candles!Rhinestones!!Here are my daughter’s assembled boxes.And some of mine:Taking it to the next level: hahaha! Something “extra” for those candles= ribbons and (dollor store) stretchy pearl bracelets:

Of course I tried to color the boxes to look like the real cake!😉Also of course, I did a little photoshoot of the boxes.  I always do that and my kids know that I prefer to photograph “still life” because it holds still, unlike wiggly funny-face-making kids! ha.

If you group together 8 boxes, they form a paper cake!!  Can I say it again: I had fun with these cute little boxes!🙂

What do you think? Que piensas?

