Dairy-free egg-free dessert

Standard

A few years ago I was completely off dairy.  So I started making one of my favorite (super-quick) desserts without milk and butter.  And it turned out ok!!  So here’s a recipe for you if you can’t have dairy, but are craving a bit of hot chocolately sweetness!!The recipe is called Brownie Pudding, but we have renamed it Floating Island at my house.  I usually make a vanilla cake version, but in the photos here I added cocoa powder to the batter, so it’s a chocolate biscuit-type cake floating in a chocolate sauce.
Here’s the recipe.  It’s actually doubled so that it feeds the 6 people at our house and I bake it in a 2.8 Liter casserole.  But you can easily halve (half?) the recipe for a smaller quantity:

Floating Island Dairy-Free Egg-Free Dessert

for batter combine:

1 1/2 cups of flour

1 Tablespoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

6 Tablespoons white sugar (or Splenda) or a bit less…

mix in:  3 Tablespoons vegetable oil (canola) and

3/4 cup of water  (that would be milk for the non-dairy-free version)

this will make a stiff batter.  Drop this batter by spoonfuls into this sauce:

mix this sauce in a deep casserole dish:

3/4 cup brown sugar

3 Tablespoons cocoa powder (not hot cocoa powder!!)

2 1/4 cups boiling water

3 Tablespoons vegetable oil

pinch of salt

1 teaspoon vanilla

Bake at 375 degrees for about 35 minutes.  Serve hot.

So you are making a sauce in a casserole dish, then adding a batter by dropping spoonfuls of it into the sauce.  It will look funny, but bakes up nice, with the biscuit-like cake floating in the sauce.  I didn’t add cocoa powder to the cake in the recipe above, but you can, just a few Tablespoons of cocoa, I guess.

I like to make a white cake floating in a chocolate sauce, and I sprinkle lots of cinnamon on top before baking (this is supposed to make you cut your cravings to eat so much! ha).  Sometimes I also like to leave out the chocolate and just have a brown sugar caramel sauce, though this wouldn’t taste as good in the butter-free version (so that would be 3 Tbsp of butter instead of the oil in the sauce).  I can’t guarantee that absolutely everyone will love this dessert.  One of my kids doesn’t, but that’s because they don’t like any type of sauces on anything.  So you have to like saucy, hot, rich desserts to like this one!!

And if there are people in your household who can eat dairy, top if off with vanilla ice cream!!

Anyways, hope this helps out!!  I know what I now feel like making for dessert tonight!!!  (Did I mention that this is really fast to make?  Especially when you’ve made it a few times, you can whip the ingredients together in about 7 minutes then bake for 30, then dig in!!)

9 responses »

    • no chocolate would be a white cake with caramel sauce. I haven’t tried making the sauce with oil instead of butter, but I’m thinking you’d be ok with 3 Tbsp of butter in the sauce…..maybe I should test it out with oil in the sauce….

  1. One of my favorate desserts is very almost the same- but we call it chocolate pudding cake- I double the pudding mixings, because I love it. And, most importantly- always top with French vanilla ice cream.

  2. I’m a little insulted- (you can heal my heart with lemon pound cake) My recipe is not from a mix, and therefore just as homemade- I do know how to bake (I just usually choose to take the easier route) – I may need to march over and make it for you just to prove a point- (also, because none of my kids like chocolate, so it is pointless making it at home.)

What do you think? Que piensas?

