A day to reflect.

Standard

It is September 11, just in case you haven’t noticed.  I only noticed half an hour ago.

Yes, I remember where I was and what I was doing when I heard the awful news from my relatives in the States. (at home taking care of my 2 babies). I think it was about a week later that we actually drove across the border, and I was so nervous that security was going to be super tight and crazy….but we made it across fairly easily.   My dear mother-in-law was in New Jersey at that time, and they had been talking of going to visit the twin towers….

Just thought I would remember and reflect for a moment.

Today I was also reflecting on a few other things…like how I have been MIA from this blog.  (I hate using abbreviations and just can’t leave one sitting there, unexplained, so just in case you thought I was talking about being Made In Azbakistan, Malaysian Institute of Art, Miami International Airport or Master of International Affairs, I was actually meaning Missing In Action.  Sigh, that clarification feels better.)  I was out of town for 6 weeks, but even when I did finally get home, I didn’t open up my blog.  I can’t explain why.  It wasn’t for lack of inspiration or lack of photos or projects to post about.  I thought of blog posts every day that I wanted to post.  And took photos, and did projects.  I can’t explain what was wrong with me.  Blog Block??  Hmm, I could maybe blame the craziness of getting ready for the first weeks of school, shopping, getting up early, making lunches, tiredness, watching too many classic b&w movies (black and white!!).  Maybe a combination of everything.

The weird thing is that this summer I figured that I would like to spend this next year practicing writing.  Not focusing so much on photos, scrapbooking and other fun designing stuff, but I would like to write more.  And then the new (school) year starts and…. I. write. nothing. (even. less. than. usual.)

(I have never tried that effect, placing  a period after each word to dramatize it, so thought it was a good moment to try it out. Does it work?)

So I figured today was a good day to reflect, and then make a move.  A move back to my blog, back to trying to write something, to documenting some family stuff.  To trying to climb off that slippery slope of _______________(fill in the blank).  So this is it.  My “move” for today.  And now I’m off to have lunch with a friend who I know will be compassionate in understanding my failures and inspiring to keep moving forward.  :)

It’s going to be a good day for change.

resources used in this post: http://www.abbreviations.com/MIA

What do you think? Que piensas?

