Canada week

Standard

We didn’t have much time to gear up for Canada Day (this past Sunday), so we just kind of made it last longer…more like Canada Week.  Which is perfectly fine.  I didn’t get my “traditional” cookies baked ’till the middle of the week, and other little things, but that’s ok, my energy levels go in fits and spurts so I can’t always keep up, even on posting here on the blog.  So I do what I can.  One of my mottos has always been “better late than never” and that pretty much sums it up.

Here are a few more photos I wanted to share.

Here’s our actual Canada Day meal, one that we love and for us, says CANADA, perogies and sausage!!I tried out several table centrepieces (that’s spelled the canadian way)…Involving cookies, flags, and a small piece of plastic grass…. I found it at the dollar store and it’s plastic tackiness was more than I could resist.  How cute it was and how perfect for a summery tabletop centerpiece!!  The ladybug tacks were fun, too, and so far no one has impaled themselves with one….$100 bills were also great used as napkins….I mean napkins that looked like $100 bills…..one was even used to pull out my son’s tooth!!!  Not every day a $100 bill is used for that purpose!A yummy dessert that didn’t turn out at all as I had planned, but slathered in cream and raspberries was quite delicious.Lots of red berries and fruit!! A touching performance of “O Canada!” was played on the…..ocarina….on an ipod app.  Did you know about that one?  You can blow into the speaker of your ipod and then play music on the “keys” that appear on the screen.  Who knew? but it works😉

I think these next guys are Honey Bear’s circus relatives:colored sand in a jar…how easy….And the cookies, pecan maple leaves,  which I will post the recipe for soon….really, soon….sometime…..Happy Canada Week!!  Oh yeah, and hopefully all my US friends and relatives had a fun FOURTH of July!!! If I was there, I’d be celebrating with you!!!

5 responses »

  1. que rico y que lindo, espero que cuando vengan la siguiente vez podamos hacer de todas estas cositas tan ricas y tan bonitas

What do you think? Que piensas?

