Homemade Yogurt Sherbet

Standard
Homemade Yogurt Sherbet

This lovely dessert takes me right back to my childhood, when we called it sherbert and Mom made it from her home-made yogurt!  I’ve always called it sherbert (sounds kinda like Ernie & Bert, another instance of childhood memorabilia!) but then started doubting the name…so I looked it up on wikipedia of course!

“In the United States, sorbet and sherbet (where it is often pronounced /ˈʃɜrbərt/[2][3] and sometimes spelled sherbert) are different products. For Americans, sherbet is the more widely known term and typically designates a fruity flavored frozen dairy product with a butterfat content between 1% and 2%. Sorbet, on the other hand, is considered by Americans to be a fruity frozen product with no dairy content, similar to Italian ice.”

So there we go, I can go on freely calling it sherbert, since I did grow up with Americans ;)  Oh wait!! I had to buzz back to wikipedia to see if I was spelling yogurt right, since I kept wanting to spell it with an “h”….and just for your informative pleasure, here it is:

“In English, there are several variations of the spelling of the word, including yogurt, yoghurt, yoghourt, yogourt, yaghourt, yoghurd, joghourt, and jogourt. In the United Kingdom and Australia, yogurt and yoghurt are both current, yoghurt being more common while yogurt is used by the Australian and British dairy councils, and yoghourt is an uncommon alternative. In the United States, yogurt is the usual spelling and yoghurt a minor variant. In New Zealand, yoghurt is preferred by the New Zealand Oxford Dictionary. In Canada, yogurt is most common among English speakers, but many brands use yogourt, since it is an acceptable spelling in both English and French, the official languages of Canada.”

I know that’s waaaay more than you ever wanted to know about spelling yogurt, but I guess I must be rather geeky, because it interests me, and since I can put anything I want on here, I’ll keep on with the spelling trivia!! haha!  You just never know when you’ll have occasion to remember this informative post!

Anyways, back to the 1980’s, when I was (very) young and my Mom had her own yogurt making machine….we lived in Guatemala and at that time we couldn’t buy yogurt at the supermarket (or any market that I remember), so my mom would make it herself.  I was just wishing I had one of those little machines the other day… ok ok, I know that there’s a method of making yogurt w/o a machine, but didn’t want to go that far!

The other day, and for the first time since I’ve lived in Canada, I decided to make my mom’s old recipe.  It was a nostalgic moment for me, buying good ole Tang at the store!  We eat a lot of Greek yogurt at our house, so that was already in the fridge.  Here are the rest of the ingredients:Eggs, unflavored yogurt, white corn syrup and Tang, that’s all!  (if you can’t get Tang, or just for a “healthier” version, just substitute 1/2 cup of sugar and 1/3 cup of lime or lemon juice for the package of Tang).

Homemade Yogurt Sherbert Recipe:

(makes about 6 small servings)

3 eggs

1/3 cup light corn syrup (that’s the white or clear syrup, not the golden)

2 cups plain yogurt

1 package Tang drink crystals OR  1/2 cup white sugar and 1/3 cup lime or lemon or orange juice

Directions:

Mix all ingredients, by hand with a whisk or a mixer, in a bowl.

Beat well!Pour the “batter” into a cake pan and then set it in the freezer.When it’s frozen almost to the middle, scoop it back into the mixing bowl and beat well (again!)Return to the freezer and freeze completely!  Keep checking it, as I find that there’s a “perfect” moment to eat it, when it’s not quite frozen solid!  It is fairly creamy tasting and I can’t guarentee that you (or your kids!) will like it, but if you love yogurt, I think you just might like it!  I surely do.

P.S. I just wanted to mention that if this sherbet is made with Greek yogurt, it has LOTS of protein in it!!  Great for pairing with a low protein dinner….

6 responses »

    • no, it just tastes very creamy…not like icy sorbet. I don’t have a problem eating raw eggs, since I’m always eating raw cookie dough!! I’m kinda (wishful thinking) hoping that freezing the eggs would kill off any bad stuff….not sure though!🙂 Really, I don’t think it tastes weird, and I was a really picky kid!!

What do you think? Que piensas?

