The iron matron experiment

Standard

The other day I posted about being a “non-iron, non-maiden” (here), but now I’ve come up with a better title:  the iron matron.  (I was reminded this week that that’s what I am, a matron! :)  a jolly old-fashioned term that makes me laugh!

My iron is low, so I’m trying to get it up without going to the hospital for an “iron infusion” (not-fun-sounding).  So aside from taking iron pills, I’m trying out a few other things.  (but none of it involves running or swimming wildy like an iron man competition, no not at all!!)

I’m afraid that I just couldn’t work myself up to eat blood sausages, morcillas? (and wouldn’t know where to find them here anyways), as recommended by my Guatemalan mother-in-law  :)  sorry Mamita, just can’t do it!!  (es que no me entra, y menos para tragarlo!)

So I found something that’s easy for me to make, and yummy, too!  This is what I’m trying to eat:  First I started out with a nice spinach and strawberry and mandarin orange salad every day.Oh yummy!  With some balsamic vinagrette drizzled on, ooo lala!  I can easily eat that every single day, if the kids don’t get to the strawberries before I do!!  And I don’t willingly let them eat up my mandarin orange cups!

After my other post, Sheila commented on it and recommended liver pate.  Oh, um, well, I thought, I have never eaten pate, and liver is just one of those things that has never been in my eating vocabulary!  But I decided to try it out.  Thanks for the suggestions in your comment, Sheila!

Henry brought some “liver sausage” home for me to try (the herbed style), so this is what I did:A fifth of this little log gives you 10% of your daily recommended iron intake…hmm, that sounds good!

So I mashed up about 2 or 3 tablespoons with some mayo (miracle whip).  Then I spread it on toast and added some black pepper, chopped onion and cilantro and a bit of diced tomatos….I wanted to make sure that my first taste of liver pate would be a good one…(and it helps to have vitamin C at the same time to help the iron be absorbed, so that’s why the tomato and cilantro, some lime would be nice, too)

Well, it looooooked pretty good…..now to taste it……

I don’t know why I was so surprised, but I liked it!  I really liked it!! 🙂

Not bad at all!  I think I will easily be able to eat this every morning for breakfast, and what I ate on 2 pieces of toast (whole wheat of course) was about 20% of the recommended daily intake, so that sounds good to me!  Now, if I can just keep Henry and kids from eating up the liver……………………

2 responses »

  1. bueno ami no me gusta esa comida pero si la pones en un platito como la hiciste sin decirme nada.mmmmmmm creo q la pruebo. pero no creo que me guste. soy super mañosa con lo de la comida, pero si es para la salud no hay salida hay que comerlo.

What do you think? Que piensas?

