Owl punches penguins

Standard

Warning: this is a post about fiddly paper stuff.  (definition of fiddly: chiefly British: requiring close attention to detail : fussy; especially: requiring an annoying amount of close attention <the tiny control buttons on the back are fiddly)

It’s about my new Owl punch from Stampin’ Up. It’s new to me and I’ve already gotten some good use out of it.  For our Owl and Rainbow party it was used to make cupcake toppers:

Cute, eh?  (paper was from an old Stampin’ Up kit).  Yes, it took a bit of  time to make those colorful little babies…

This was a place setting from my daughter’s party:

The white frame is from IKEA, of course…and I just typed out each guest’s name on a blank card, so that they could use the fabulous Owl Punch and create their own work of art to take home…It was interesting to see what design each girl came up with!  My girl made a cyclops owl….(not pictured)

In the back of the frame was the thank you card… And each girl had the cutest cork coaster…ready to be decorated with…you guessed it….an owl!  (cork coaster from IKEA)I could stare at it for hours……those eyes, those EYES!!!

This is the only photo I have of the punch.  If you love it like I do, you can find it on the Stampin’ Up website.

Here is what is punched out by the Stampin’ Up Owl punch, from a small piece of paper or cardstock:

Ok, here’s the really cool part, I clicked around online to find some more ways to use this punch, and this is what I found….A cute penguin!! And how perfect is that, since the next party I’m doing is a (drumroll) Pingu penguin party! yay!

Here’s how you can transform an owl into a penguin (going from right to left):It’s that easy…really.  Ok, that’s what I was going to do, but I decided to get even more fiddly and give little Pingu yellow feet and beak…Cut off a few owl’s feet and add to little penguin.  The heart becomes the beak.  If you have some down time, and feel like making something rather fiddly….try it out!  Ta da! Totally cute. Penguins, what can I say?

Stay tuned for more penguin party ideas in the next few days…(or weeks, we’ll see…)

5 responses »

  1. Terrific! I love paper and I’m always doing things with it… but i don’t have any punches!!! so, i trace and then cut all with little scissors making it quite fiddly. Naomi loves owls and thinks this are lovely!

  2. Pingback: Pingu Penguin Party for a Toddler, or Fiesta Pingüino! « denna's ideas

What do you think? Que piensas?

