Polka dot cakes

Standard
Polka dot cakes

Last week I was sick as a dog.  That is a weird expression, because I don’t ever remember our dogs getting sick.  Maybe it means that when dogs do get sick (infrequently), they get really sick.  That’s how I felt.  Anyways, there’s my little gripe (and no one made me any chicken soup).  While I was sick, I knew that there was a birthday party coming up that I had said I would make the cakes for.  I was just hoping I’d get better quick…and be able to do everything last minute.  The Rapunzel cake worked out fairly last minute, so I was hoping I’d be ok.  Finally on friday afternoon, I started feeling a bit better.  Henry was kind enough to bring pizza and hamburgers for different meals, and that helped me feel better, believe it or not.  So, here we go again with the last minute cake rush…  I had seen a few cute cakes on Pinterest that I thought I could copy…so I baked a batch of chocolate chip cookies to give me strength, and started guzzling the “Dr. Flave” (walmart brand).  Ok, so it was more work than I had thought it would be, and a late late night.  A lot of work, but the cakes turned out really cute….and they even tasted good, too!  (I’m still trying to get the “hang” of fondant cakes and making my own marshmallow fondant)  I lost my chocolate cake recipe years ago, too,  and had to try out a new one, a Hershey’s one, which I am very pleased with.  I ended up using this photo for inspiration: http://pinterest.com/pin/201606520788981292/   So anyways, that’s my ramble about making cakes last minute, like I do everything, not feeling well, but improvising and making things work out at the very end.  Another thing, as we were heading out the door to pack the cakes into the van, we realized we had a very flat tire.  Thank the Lord for good friends who can bail you out!  The cakes, cupcakes, and ourselves did make it to the birthday party and all was well!  I still get palpitations when I’m working on a project like this…oh wait, maybe that was from the Dr. Flave!!  All’s well that ends well….here are some cake pics that I snapped before we carried them out in boxes….

One response »

What do you think? Que piensas?

